I ain’t 20 (or 30) no more.

Gonna be 40 in two weeks.  Can’t treat myself now they way I have been over the last 8 or so years.  The results of excessive alcohol abuse, being overweight, and my diet have led to the following procedure, which took place a couple hours ago (as copied from Facebook):

Ok, just had my endoscopy. The procedure itself I have no recollection of whatsoever, and I had a nice nap 😀. By far the worst part was the waiting and anticipatory anxiety. Short-term memory is fairly hazy, which is sorta fun in a weird way–they told me not to make any decisions today 😀

It’s going to be around 10 days or so to check any pathology, but I do have GERD (which I already knew), a hiatal hernia (the former of which my dad’s brother has, and the latter of which my mom has had), and very likely Barrett’s Esophagus (this will be confirmed or not depending upon biopsy results that I have to wait for).

The Barrett’s is potentially the most serious of the three. According to the literature I was given, Barrett’s esophagus can lead to cancer of the area, though the risk is small at 0.4 to 0.5% per year. Antacids may improve Barrett’s esophagus.

I went on omeprazole (Prilosec) after my PCP visit last month, so that’s taken care of. What I do need to do is lose weight and stop eating 2-3 hours before bed–that one is going to be difficult I think. They also recommended using a block or other apparatus to elevate my head when I go to sleep…though I am uncomfortable in that position.

It was also recommended that I get further endoscopies on probably a yearly basis. I don’t yet know whether they call me to schedule one when it nears time.

I’ve already got two of the recommendations covered: antacid, and stopping drinking. I have no alcohol in the apartment except for a very small amount of rum that wouldn’t even fill a shot glass.

Now I just need to wait for test results.

Leave a Reply

